An Update- School, Career & Vocation

Wow, it’s been so long since I’ve been on my blog!
Anyway, here’s a bit of an update:

School:

Well it has been a busy year, especially since I am completing my last year of school – Year 12. In Australia the school year coincides with the 12-month year, meaning that as the year draws to a close so does school. We Year 12 students are almost finished (only a few weeks to go,) I just can’t wait for it to be over! The year has gone so fast, and Year 12 has definitely taken school to the next level. So often, in the past we’ve been told about how stressful Year 12 is; those stories were definitely accurate.

At enrollment, I chose 4 subjects: (which is the bare minimum requirement)
English Literature,
English Language,
Information Technology Applications
Business Management
these subjects alone have been difficult to keep up with, I can only imagine how difficult it is for those with 5 or more.

Career:

The last two to three months have been quite helpful in regards to finding what I’d like to do, career-wise. For the past year or two I’ve been pretty confused and overwhelmed about all the options available. I’m interested in so many things and I just couldn’t bring myself to choose one definitive path to follow. I also didn’t want to be rushed or pressured into the wrong decision either, especially since it is encouraged that students apply in the second half of Year 12, in order to get a place.

So after a long period spent praying and researching, and talking to the Careers coordinator, more and more came into place. The University Open Days, Course Info Sessions & Career Expos arrived in the middle of the year and were surprisingly more helpful than I anticipated. I’ve taken every opportunity I can in investigating the paths available.

After much deliberation, I decided to look into design. I’ve always enjoyed art/design/creative activities. The area of Visual Merchandising has particularly caught my eye, since it involves several design areas, the construction of your designs, and then watching it come to life. Also the fact that it has become an important part of how businesses/events advertise and present themselves really interests me, as I would like to get involved in Business.

Successful application to the course requires an interview and folio. I don’t have a folio compiled at present but I’m looking at a four day course geared specifically at those applying for the Diploma of Visual Merchandising. The course delivers instruction on preparing a folio in order to apply for the Diploma.

I continue to pray that this is the right route to take. Please Holy Spirit continue to guide and inspire me!

Vocation:

I’ve felt for quite a long time a calling to Marriage. I’m not in a relationship at the moment, nor have I been in the past, but I’m only 18 and I’m not in a hurry if God isn’t. I’d rather wait for the right guy then rush into a disagreeable relationship. I’ve offering prayers to St. Raphael, St. Maria Goretti, St. Philomena & Our Lady and of course the Holy Trinity for guidance.

Anyway that’s about it for me at the moment School-Career-Vocation-wise.

I hope you’re all well! Thank-you for taking the time to read.

God Bless,

Gabby x

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

